## VCA Nominating Committee Report – AGM April, 2023 Mona Babin (Chair), Carol Perrin (VCA Vice-President), Patricia Klotz



The VCA Nominating Committee fulfilled its mandate according to the following VCA By-Laws

## Article III

- c) Any member may serve on the Executive Board for an indeterminate number of terms, with the restriction that the continuous time period within which a member may hold the same Executive Board position shall be a maximum of two (2) consecutive terms. A term is defined as two years of a Membership year. An extension to any position can be approved by a majority of members in attendance at the Annual General Meeting.
- f) At the October meeting of the Association, the Executive Board shall appoint three (3) members as a nominating committee to prepare a slate of nominees consisting of at least one (1) candidate for each Executive Board position up for re-election. This slate shall be presented at the Annual General Meeting for election of the new Executive Board. Nominations from the floor will also be accepted at the Annual General Meeting. VOTING members of the nominating committee are not barred from becoming nominees for office. If more than one candidate is running for an Executive Board position, the vote shall be by secret ballot.
- g) The election of the Executive Board shall be the last order of business at the Annual General Meeting. The retiring Executive Board shall complete the records of the Association and hand them over to their successors. The Vice President, Treasurer and Recording Officer positions are up for election on even years. The President and Communications Director are elected during odd years.
- m) If a vacancy occurs in the membership of the Executive Board, other than removal by vote of the membership, the majority of the remaining members of the Executive Board may appoint any qualified person to be a member of the Executive Board to fill such vacancy until the next Annual General Meeting.

## We are pleased to present the following candidates

Position: Recording Officer

Incumbent: vacant Nominee: Ann Hill

Nominated by: Vivienne Lipman

Position: Vice-President Incumbent: Carol Perrin Nominee: Carol Perrin

Nominated by: Doug Widdicombe

Position: President
Incumbent: Ardeth Staz
Nominee: Ardeth Staz
Nominated by: Judy McHattie

Position: Director of Communications

Incumbent: Sue Henry Nominee: Sue Henry Nominated by: Bill Jenkins